When removing a user, 'guix system reconfigure' does not remove the user's home directory

DoneSubmitted by Chris Marusich.
Details
3 participants
  • Chris Marusich
  • Ludovic Courtès
  • Mark HWeaver
Owner
unassigned
Severity
normal
C
C
Chris Marusich wrote on 1 Dec 2016 03:00
(address . bug-guix@gnu.org)
87r35sxvbx.fsf@gmail.com
Hi,
If you add a user to your operating system configuration file,reconfigure, remove the user, and reconfigure again, then the user'shome directory will remain. I expected it to be deleted when Ireconfigured the second time.
Is this expected behavior?
-- Chris
-----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----Version: GnuPG v2
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DphL-----END PGP SIGNATURE-----
M
M
Mark HWeaver wrote on 1 Dec 2016 11:14
(name . Chris Marusich)(address . cmmarusich@gmail.com)(address . 25080@debbugs.gnu.org)
87h96oez1v.fsf@netris.org
Hi,
Chris Marusich <cmmarusich@gmail.com> writes:
Toggle quote (7 lines)> If you add a user to your operating system configuration file,> reconfigure, remove the user, and reconfigure again, then the user's> home directory will remain. I expected it to be deleted when I> reconfigured the second time.>> Is this expected behavior?
I think (hope?) so. If I accidentally made a mistake in my systemconfiguration and it resulted in the deletion of my home directory, Iwould be *very* angry and probably never trust GuixSD again.
Mark
C
C
Chris Marusich wrote on 1 Dec 2016 12:40
(name . Mark HWeaver)(address . mhw@netris.org)(address . 25080@debbugs.gnu.org)
8760n3lvx4.fsf@gmail.com
Mark H Weaver <mhw@netris.org> writes:
Toggle quote (14 lines)> Hi,>> Chris Marusich <cmmarusich@gmail.com> writes:>> If you add a user to your operating system configuration file,>> reconfigure, remove the user, and reconfigure again, then the user's>> home directory will remain. I expected it to be deleted when I>> reconfigured the second time.>>>> Is this expected behavior?>> I think (hope?) so. If I accidentally made a mistake in my system> configuration and it resulted in the deletion of my home directory, I> would be *very* angry and probably never trust GuixSD again.
Yeah, I think you're right. Not deleting the directory automatically isthe safe thing to do. Thanks for confirming the behavior is expected.This bug report can be closed now.
-- Chris
-----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----Version: GnuPG v2
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DWzu-----END PGP SIGNATURE-----
L
L
Ludovic Courtès wrote on 1 Dec 2016 15:17
control message for bug #25080
(address . control@debbugs.gnu.org)
8737i7spht.fsf@gnu.org
tags 25080 notabugclose 25080
?
Your comment

This issue is archived.

To comment on this conversation send email to 25080@debbugs.gnu.org